Haridwar Overview

Name: Haridwar

Altitude: 314 m (1,030 ft)

Coordinates: 29.945°N 78.163°E

District: Haridwar

Region: Garhwal

State: Uttarakhand

Country: India

Founded: 1st Centuary BC

Founder: King Vikramaditya

Population: 228,832

Area City: 12.3 km2 (4.7 sq mi)

Languages: Hindi, Garhwali, English

Pin Code: 249401

Telephone Code: +91-1334


Haridwar is a an ancient city of Uttarakhand and very famous as a Pilgrimage destination among Hindus. It has been said that this is the place where the Lord Shiva released the mighty river Ganga from his hairs. The River Ganga orginates from Gaumukh Glacier and after travelling 253 kilometers enters at haridwar for the first time and here Haridwar gets one more name 'Gangadwar'. Haridwar is one of the Holiest Places to Hindus which are known as Sapta Puri. Haridwar is the largest city of the district, and it is continuously growing.

"Ayodhyā Mathurā Māyā Kāśī Kāñcī Avantikā

Purī Dvārāvatī caiva saptaitā mokṣadāyikāḥ" – According to Garuḍa Purāṇa

Haridwar along with Ujjain, Nashik and Prayag (Allahabad) is one of four sites where drops of Amrit, the elixir of immortality, accidentally spilled over from the pitcher while being carried by the celestial bird Garuda. This is manifested in the Kumbha Mela, which is celebrated every 12 years in Haridwar. During the Haridwar Kumbh Mela, millions of pilgrims, devotees, and tourists congregate in Haridwar to perform ritualistic bathing on the banks of the river Ganges to wash away their sins to attain Moksha.

Brahma Kund, the spot where the Amrit fell, is located at Har ki Pauri (literally, "footsteps of the Lord") and is considered to be the most sacred ghat of Haridwar. It is also the primary center of the Kanwar pilgrimage, in which millions of participants gather sacred water from the Ganga and carry it across hundreds of miles to dispense as offerings in Śiva shrines


Prince Bhagiratha in penance for the salvation of 60,000 of his ancestors. In the scriptures, Haridwar has been variously mentioned as Kapilasthana, Gangadwara[8] and Mayapuri. It is also an entry point to the Char Dham (the four main centres of pilgrimage in Uttarakhand viz, Badrinath, Kedarnath, Gangotri, and Yamunotri), hence, Shaivaites (followers of Lord Shiva) and Vaishnavites (followers of Lord Vishnu) call this place Hardwar and Haridwar respectively, corresponding to Hara being Shiv and Hari being Vishnu.

In the Vanaparva of the Mahabharat, where sage Dhaumya tells Yudhishthira about the tirthas of India, Gangadwar, i.e., Haridwar and Kankhal, have been referred to, the text also mentions that Agastya Rishi did penance here, with the help of his wife, Lopamudra (the princess of Vidharba).

Sage Kapila is said to have an ashram here giving it, its ancient name, Kapila or Kapilasthana.


Haridwar Tourism


Chardham Yatra from Haridwar

Badrinath is one of the Dham of Chardham Yatra which is situated in the Chamoli district of Uttarakhand. The devotee came here for Darshan of Badrinath. The view around Badrinath is full

Phone number*:
Email address:
Your Query*:

Referral Form
Enter web form code*: Contact Us form
reload image

* - required fields.              


Our Motto is to always deliver with passion to the travel requirements of individual traveller and to our trade partners in India and Abroad, through the commitments of our dedicated staff and director’s.